Posted by: Andrew Hemingway | December 1, 2009

Managing your first community…


As I have been traveling and speaking about Online community Management, it has grown more and more obvious to me just how new this field is. Almost everyone that I talk to has said “this is my first community”. I am amazed at the number of new managers that there are out there right now managing some very active communities, and my hat goes off to them. So I thought in this post I would just encourage you- the new community manager.

This is not an easy job. You have to be aware of this right up front. But it is one of the most rewarding positions you will ever have. You have an amazing opportunity to help your members make connections with people they would never meet otherwise. There is a woman in Russia that loves to quilt, and because of your community she meets and becomes life long friends with a woman from Texas. You are responsible for their friendship! What other job pays you to do this!

There will be many posts to come about all the “How to” of management, but in this post I just wanted to say welcome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

